About our Department

The Division of Graduate Medical Studies was formed initially as a Committee for Postgraduate Medical Studies in 1961. It was subsequently constituted in 1969 as a 'Postgraduate School' responsible to the Senate. The executive body of the School was the Board of the School of Postgraduate Medical Studies, whose membership included representatives from the National University of Singapore, Academy of Medicine and Ministry of Health. In 2002, the Graduate School was re-named the Division of Graduate Medical Studies (DGMS).

The main aims of the Division are to promote postgraduate training and education in Singapore; to accredit training programmes; and to offer examinations leading to specialist qualifications. Since the inception of our postgraduate programmes, over 4,000 doctors and other professionals have obtained the Master of Medicine (M.Med degree) and Graduate Diplomas in the various specialties and clinical skills. The first examinations for the M.Med degree held in 1970 were in Internal Medicine, Surgery and Paediatrics. The M.Med in Obstetrics & Gynaecology(O&G) was introduced the following year. In 1973, the degree of Master of Science in Occupational Medicine was introduced and the degree of Master of Science in Public Health replaced the former Diploma in Public Health. In 1991, these degrees were re-designated as Master of Medicine in Occupational Medicine/Public Health. In 1985, the Division conducted the first examination leading to the degree of Master of Medicine in Psychiatry. The degree of Master of Medicine in Family Medicine was instituted in 1992 with the first examination being held in 1993. In 1994, the Master of Medicine in Diagnostic Radiology was introduced. Two new M.Med degrees, in Orthopaedic Surgery and Otorhinolaryngology, were introduced in 2000.